Mount Sinai

Mount Sinai, often known as “Mount Moses” or Jabal Moussa.

Mount Sinai is a particularly significant and holy site in Egypt, as well as a sacred location in the world.

The peak of the mountain is 2,285 meters above sea level. This mountain is situated in the southern portion of the Sinai peninsula, which is regarded to be the location between Asia and Africa.

It is highly suggested for people who wish to try something new and appreciate the natural beauty of Egypt by climbing the mountains and admiring the scenery.

The mountain of Sinai has a long and illustrious history.

Mount Horeb, Mount Moses, and Jabal Moussa are just a few of the names that have been given to the mountain throughout history.

Because, according to Biblical tradition, Mount Moses is the location where the prophet Moses spoke with God and received the ten commandments after spending 40 days and 40 nights there, it is a particularly spiritual place, revered by the three monotheistic religions, and it is well-known throughout the world for its extraordinary natural beauty, which has been depicted in numerous paintings and sculptures of great artistic merit.

The Monastery of St. Catherine, which is located at the foot of the mountain and is the world’s oldest Christian monastery that is still in operation, is a member of the Eastern Orthodox Church and may be visited.

The following are some of the things to see and do on Mount Sinai:

Hiking to the summit of the mountain is possible for both tourists and pilgrims, particularly during the winter months.

The majority of visitors begin their trip around 2 a.m. so that they may reach the peak throughout the night when it is still dark and see the beautiful view of sunrise from the top of the mountain.

The journey to Saint Catherine and Mount Moses from Sharm El Sheikh is now available for booking.

The peak may be climbed by two different routes:

For those who are more physically strong and athletic, and who are not afraid to exercise, there is the 3750-meter Stairway of Repentance, which was excavated by a penitent monk and is the most direct path.

The Steps of Penance, also known as the Door of Confession, are a steeper road that is lined with numerous votive sites, including the Door of Confession, where a monk used to hear pilgrims’ confessions, the door of St. Stephen, and the spring of Moses, which runs from a cave.

Sinai Mountain is a challenging climb.

Even though the second route is longer than the first, it is not as fast as the first; people can either walk up to it or ride on the back of a camel, in which case they must walk the final 750 steps; both routes lead to the Greek Orthodox monastery of St. Catherine, which has been designated as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

The basilica, which has a mosaic depicting the “transfiguration,” and the monastery library, which contains 4,500 rare written works, are among the other noteworthy destinations. The library is considered to have the second largest collection of ancient manuscripts in the world, behind the Vatican.

A magnificent picture that includes the Gulf of Aqaba, the highlands of Africa, and the mountains of Saudi Arabia may be seen from the summit of the mountain.

This is a panoramic perspective that captures the interest of every visitor who wants to learn more about the history and natural history of the planet from a different point of view.

Reach us on WhatsApp